Google Optimize: the A/B testing tool to optimize your site for free

By My Little Big Web

If companies want to stay in the race, they have to constantly adapt their marketing strategies to the latest technological developments. Today, optimizing your website’s user experience to increase visibility, conversion rate and search rankings is the challenge you want to focus on. To help you, let’s take a closer look at Google Optimize, Google’s free solution for A/B testing.

What’s the point of an A/B test?

Companies perform A/B tests to compare different types of visual content on their website. The goal is to compare two versions of content, version A and version B, and identify which one is most successful and therefore most effective with an audience. Creating a website involves many decisions, all of which must be thought out and optimized for the user. Regularly testing content is therefore a strategy that many companies have adopted.

Convert your visitors with A/B tests

Thanks to A/B tests, a website can be effectively optimized to increase its conversion rate. A high conversion rate means that your site is profitable and high quality. This means that users value the user experience you provide, whether in terms of your products and services or in terms of content. A quality website that offers a good user experience is what the

search engines like! Since its latest algorithm updates, Google has used these criteria to position websites in search results and improve your SEO.

Why perform A/B testing with Google Optimize?

There are many online tools available for A/B testing. However, what makes Google Optimize different from others is the ability to link and integrate it directly into the various tools in the Google suite, including Google Analytics, Data Studio and Google Ads. This cross-platform approach makes it extremely easy to collect and compare data with specific goals while measuring specific behaviors on a website. Google Optimize is also very easy to set up and use. There is no need to have specific coding knowledge to set it up on your site.

Google Optimize Welcome Page

 

Getting started on Google Optimize

Once you have chosen your account name (which is usually the name of the company in question), you can install Google Optimize on your website via Google Tag Manager, but this is not a requirement. You can also manually add the “Google Optimize” tag on each page of your website. You must then enter your Google Analytics tracking ID and Optimize container ID.

It is also recommended to fill in the code snippet that will be generated by Google Optimize, which will prevent your different pages from flickering, i. e. from overlapping during the test phases. This is not a required step but it will improve the user experience for those with slow connections.

Google Optimize Code Snippet Installation

Configuring an experiment

Before performing a first test, you should be familiar with the different experiments that Google Optimize offers. You will be able to optimize your website in the way that seems most strategic for achieving your objectives.

Google Optimize Create an Experiment

A/B test

This involves comparing at least two variants to determine which one is the most efficient. This test is ideal for optimizing pages of a website step by step. This is the simplest and most common experiment.

Multivariate test

This involves testing different variants of elements on the same page simultaneously. It is the same approach as with A/B but with more variation. We want to see which combination is the most effective.

Redirection test

This involves testing important changes, such as completely redesigning a website, or comparing two paths by comparing different URLs.

 

Google Optimize Visual Editor

Google provides a text editor to make changes to your test web pages. To access it, install the Google Optimize extension for Chrome. It will allow you to perform experiments without the help of developers. However, this isn’t a tool for web design, since that requires technical skills.

You will quickly see that it is relatively simple and intuitive to use, and has three main functions:

  • The editor palette. This displays all the elements of your page that can be edited.

test-google-optimize

  • The current selection. This allows you to select elements on your page at any time, such as text for example.
  • The app bar. This allows you to switch between the different variants and display the changes.

creer-experience-google-optimize

Create your objectives

If you continue scrolling through the variants section, you will access the configuration, where you can manage your objectives or targeting.

configuration-google-optimize

To define your objectives, you can choose from different options:

  • Choose the objectives from your Google Analytics account;
  • Choose an objective directly in Google Optimize,

Once your objectives have been defined, you can be more specific and add secondary objectives. Next, formulate a specific hypothesis so that you remember it when you compare the results a few weeks later. For example, “If I change the color of the button to red, my requests for quotes will increase.”

Define your target

Targeting allows you to select the users who will be subject to your test, as a percentage, and decide when your different variants will be offered to them.

ciblage-google-optimize

You will have the choice from a whole panel of targeting that will define the rules of this experiment. Their purpose is to help you refine and determine precisely who will have access to your content. For example, you can target visitors from a specific region, or those who use certain types of devices to view your content. There are many possibilities as shown in this section:

Google Optimize Rule Types

Create a variant

Once you have defined your objectives and targeted your audience, you can create your variants using the Optimize editor mentioned above.

variantes-google-optimize

Here is an example. For our test, we want to know if our normally black call-to-action button performs better in red. The original variant A will therefore be the black CTA and variant B will be the red one.

test-variante-google-optimize

 

test-variante2-google-optimize

Run your test

Once you have defined your objectives, targeted your audience and created your variants, you can start your test by clicking on “start”.

Our Google Optimize A/B test therefore consists of comparing two versions of the same page. We have targeted 100% of the traffic on the test page and will display the original variant (A) for half of this traffic, and variant B for the other half.

test-variante-google-optimize

You can also choose the duration and start date of your test in the “Planning” section. This will allow you to efficiently manage your tests so that you can make comparisons over time. We recommend planning your tests.

planification-google-optimize

Track the progress of your Google Optimize test

When a test is completed, Google Optimize notifies you if it has detected a winning variant, or if none of the variants performed well. With this interface, you can track your test statistics in the “Reports” tab. They are also available on Google Analytics, since the platforms are linked and interact.

GET A 30 MINUTE FREE COACHING SESSION BY COMPLETING THIS FORM !
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Google Optimize offers turnkey solutions for A/B testing

As we can see, Google Optimize offers a free website optimization tool, which allows you to perform A/B tests as well as more complex multivariate tests. It is very easy to use, and thanks to the integration of other tools in the Google suite, audience targeting becomes child’s play.

However, if you want to push the optimization further and need to perform more complex tests, Google Optimize is available in a paid version: Google 360. This version allows you to perform more than 100 experiments simultaneously and gain access to more advanced objectives for customized results.

Optimize your website with the help of professionals

In order to avoid unnecessary optimizations, it is recommended to first consult professionals who will help you create a quality website, as well as produce valuable content. If you think you need this, don’t hesitate to contact us. Our team will be happy to help you create the platform your business needs.

Google Optimize : l’outil d’A/B testing pour optimiser votre site gratuitement

Par My Little Big Web

Pour rester dans la course, les entreprises doivent constamment adapter leurs stratégies marketing aux progrès technologiques. Aujourd’hui, il s’agit d’orienter ses stratégies de marketing digital vers l’optimisation de l’expérience utilisateur de son site web pour augmenter sa visibilité, son taux de conversion et son positionnement sur les moteurs de recherche. Zoom sur Google Optimize, la solution gratuite proposée par Google pour l’A/B testing.

 

A quoi sert un test A/B?

Les entreprises effectuent des tests A/B pour comparer différents types de contenus visuels sur leur site web. Le but est de comparer deux versions d’un contenu, une version A et une version B et d’identifier celle qui a le plus de succès auprès d’une audience, et qui est donc plus performante. La construction d’un site web exige de nombreuses décisions, qui doivent toutes être pensées et optimisées pour l’utilisateur. Tester régulièrement ses contenus est donc une stratégie que de nombreuses entreprises ont adoptée.

 

Faites convertir votre site web grâce aux tests A/B

Grâce aux tests A/B, un site web peut être optimisé efficacement pour augmenter son taux de conversion. Un taux de conversion élevé signifie que votre site est rentable et de bonne qualité. Cela veut dire que les internautes apprécient l’expérience utilisateur que vous leur proposez, que ce soit au niveau de vos produits et de vos services ou au niveau du contenu. Un site web de qualité qui offre une bonne expérience utilisateur, c’est tout ce que les

moteurs de recherche aiment! En effet, depuis les dernières mises à jour de son algorithme, c’est sur ces critères que Google se base pour positionner les sites web dans les résultats de recherche et améliorer votre SEO.

 

Pourquoi faire un test A/B avec Google Optimize?

Il existe de nombreux outils en ligne pour effectuer des tests A/B. Cependant, ce qui rend Google Optimize différent des autres, c’est le fait qu’il soit lié et directement intégré aux différents outils de la suite Google, comme Google Analytics, Data Studio et Google Ads. C’est en croisant ainsi les plateformes qu’il devient extrêmement facile de récolter et comparer des données avec des objectifs précis tout en mesurant des comportements spécifiques sur un site web. Google Optimize est également très facile à mettre en place et à utiliser : pas besoin d’avoir des connaissances spécifiques en codage pour le mettre en place sur votre site.

creation-google-optimize

 

Démarrer sur Google Optimize

Une fois que vous avez choisi votre nom de compte (qui est en général le nom de l’entreprise en question), vous pouvez installer Google Optimize sur votre site web via Google Tag Manager, gestionnaire des balises de Google, mais cela n’est pas obligatoire. Vous pouvez aussi ajouter manuellement la balise « Google Optimize » sur chaque page de votre site web. Vous devez ensuite entrer votre identifiant de suivi Google Analytics ainsi que l’identifiant du conteneur Optimize.

Il est également recommandé de renseigner l’extrait de code qui sera généré par Google Optimize, qui évitera à vos différentes pages de scintiller, c’est-à-dire de se chevaucher durant les phases de test. Ce n’est pas une étape obligatoire mais elle améliorera l’expérience utilisateur pour ceux dont la connexion est lente.

installation-extrait-google-optimize

 

Configurer une expérience

Avant d’effectuer un premier test, il faut que vous connaissiez les différentes expériences que Google Optimize propose. Vous pourrez ainsi optimiser votre site web de la manière qui vous semble la plus stratégique pour atteindre vos objectifs.

creer-experience-google-optimize

Test A/B

Il s’agit de comparer deux variantes minimum afin de déterminer laquelle est la plus performante. Ce test est idéal pour optimiser des pages d’un site web étape par étape. C’est l’expérience la plus simple et la plus courante.

Test multivarié

Il s’agit de tester différentes variantes d’éléments sur une même page simultanément. C’est la même démarche qu’avec le A/B mais avec plus de variante. On veut voir quelle combinaison est la plus performante.

Test de redirection

Il s’agit de tester des changements importants, comme la refonte complète d’un site web, ou de comparer deux chemins en confrontant différentes URL.

 

Éditeur visuel de Google Optimize

Pour pouvoir effectuer des modifications sur vos pages web de test, Google met à disposition un éditeur de texte. Pour y avoir accès, installez l’extension Google Optimize pour Chrome. Elle vous permettra d’effectuer des expériences sans l’aide de développeurs. Cependant, cela n’est pas un outil qui vous permettra de concevoir votre site web, étant donné que cela nécessite des compétences techniques.

Vous verrez rapidement que son utilisation est relativement simple et intuitive, et elle comporte trois fonctions principales :

  • La palette. Elle affiche tous les éléments modifiables de votre page.

test-google-optimize

  • La sélection. Elle vous permet de sélectionner et des éléments sur votre page à n’importe quel moment, comme du texte par exemple.
  • La barre d’application. Elle vous permet de basculer entre les différentes variantes et d’afficher les modifications.

creer-experience-google-optimize

 

Créez vos objectifs

Si vous continuez à faire défiler la section des variantes, vous accéderez à la configuration, où vous pourrez gérer vos objectifs ou votre ciblage.

configuration-google-optimize

Pour définir vos objectifs, vous pourrez choisir parmi différentes possibilités :

  • Choisir parmi les objectifs de votre compte Google Analytics associé ;
  • Choisir un objectif directement dans Google Optimize,

Une fois que vous aurez défini vos objectifs, vous pouvez être plus précis et ajouter des objectifs secondaires. Formulez ensuite une hypothèse précise, de manière à vous en souvenir au moment de comparer les résultats quelques semaines plus tard. Par exemple, « Si je change la couleur du bouton en rouge, mes demandes de soumission augmenteront ».

 

Définissez votre ciblage

Le ciblage permet de sélectionner les utilisateurs qui seront sujets à votre test, en pourcentage, et de décider quand vos différentes variantes leur seront proposées.

ciblage-google-optimize

Vous aurez le choix parmi tout un panel de ciblages qui définiront les règles de cette expérimentation. Leur but est de vous permettre d’affiner pour déterminer précisément qui aura accès à votre contenu. Par exemple, vous pouvez cibler les visiteurs provenant d’une région spécifique, ou ceux qui utilisent certains types d’appareils pour consulter vos contenus. Les possibilités sont nombreuses comme en témoigne cette section :

regle-google-optimize

 

Créez une variante

Après avoir défini vos objectifs et ciblé votre audience, vous pourrez créer vos variantes en utilisant l’éditeur Optimize, dont nous avons parlé plus haut.

variantes-google-optimize

En voici un exemple. Pour notre test, nous voulons savoir si notre bouton d’appel à l’action habituellement noir est plus performant en rouge. La variante A d’origine sera donc la demande de soumission noire et la variante B sera la rouge.

test-variante-google-optimize

 

test-variante2-google-optimize

 

Démarrez votre test

Une fois que vous avez défini vos objectifs, ciblé votre audience et créé vos variantes, vous pourrez démarrer votre test en cliquant sur « démarrer ».

Notre test A/B Google Optimize consiste donc à comparer deux versions d’une même page. Nous avons ciblé 100 % du trafic de la page en test et nous afficherons la variante d’origine (A) pour la moitié de ce trafic, et la variante B pour l’autre moitié.

test-variante-google-optimize

Vous pouvez également choisir la durée et la date de mise en application de votre test, grâce à la section « Planification ». Vous pourrez donc gérer vos tests de manière efficace, pour pouvoir effectuer des comparaisons sur des périodes données. Il est conseillé de planifier vos tests.

planification-google-optimize

 

Suivez l’avancée de votre test Google Optimize

Lorsqu’un test est terminé, Google Optimize vous prévient s’il a détecté une variante gagnante, ou si au contraire aucune des variantes n’a performé. Avec cette interface, vous pourrez suivre les statistiques de vos tests dans l’onglet « Rapports ». Elles sont également disponibles sur Google Analytics, étant donné que les plateformes sont liées et se croisent.

OBTENEZ UN COACHING GRATUIT DE 30 MINUTES EN REMPLISSANT LE FORMULAIRE !
  • Ce champ n'est utilisé qu'à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.
 

Google Optimize propose des solutions clé en main pour l’A/B testing

Comme nous avons pu le voir, Google Optimize propose un outil d’optimisation gratuit de site web, qui vous permet d’effectuer des tests A/B mais aussi des tests plus complexes à multivariables. Il est très facile d’utilisation, et grâce à l’intégration d’autres outils de la suite Google, cibler des audiences devient un jeu d’enfant.

Cependant, si vous souhaitez pousser l’optimisation plus loin et que vous avez besoin d’effectuer des tests plus complexes, Google Optimize existe en version payante : Google 360. Cette version vous permet d’effectuer plus de 100 expériences simultanément et d’avoir accès à des objectifs plus poussés, pour des résultats sur mesure.

 

Optimisez votre site web avec l’aide de professionnels

Afin d’éviter des optimisations inutiles, il est conseillé de faire appel dans un premier temps à des professionnels qui vous aideront à créer un site web de qualité, mais également à produire des contenus pertinents. Si vous pensez avoir besoin de cela, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter. Notre équipe se fera un plaisir de vous aider à créer la plateforme dont votre entreprise a besoin.